The History of Leith

June 21, 2013

South Leith Records

This fascinating book contains extracts from the registers of South Leith Parish Church spanning the years 1588 to 1700. In his preface to the book Mr. Robertson notes that these books “form an authentic, indeed the only authentic, history of the parish. The registers contain the minutes of the Kirk Session, and enable one to follow the deliberations of successive generations of ministers and elders, bailies and incorporations, concerning the church and churchyard, the schools, the poor, the errant men and women of the parish, the religious and social evolution of the people.” The ancient parish of South Leith comprised large portions of Craigentinny, Restalrig, Jock’s Lodge, Abbeyhill, Canongate, Calton and South Leith. for more click here

Some Text