The History of Leith

March 9, 2013

Water’s Close (Exists but largely removed)

Water’s Close, which adjoins Burgess Close and Bernard Street., has several attractive
features in a picturesque sense, and repulsive ones
in its modern squalor. Tenements of stone and
timber, and of great antiquity, are mingled together
in singular disorder; and one venerable tenement
of hewn ashlar exhibits a broad projecting turnpike,
with various corbellings, a half-circular turret,
crowstepped gables, and massive chimneys, with
” every variety of convenient aberration from the
perpendicular or horizontal which the taste or
whim of its constructor could devise, and is one
of the most singular edifices that the artist could
select as a subject for his pencil.”
Five low and square-headed doorways of great
breadth show that the whole of the lower storey
had been constructed as a warehouse.
This edifice, with its vaults, is advertised as for
sale in The Edinbiirgh Advertiser of 1789, and is
described as being in “Willie Water’s Close, Leith.”
Its vaults are stated to be of stone, and ” the whole
length and breadth of the subject completely
catacombed.”

source-Old and New Edinburgh?

Some Text