The History of Leith

February 13, 2012

Sacked and destroyed.

William Douglas of Whittinhame grandson of Archibald who made a disposition of the house in Blackfriars Wynd, was a contemporary of Morton’s, and was closely associated with him in the murder of Darnley. His name appears as one of the judges, in the act ” touching the proceedings of the Gordons and Forbesses,” and he resigned his seat as senator in 1590.
Lower down, on the east side of the wynd, was a most picturesque building, part of which was long used as a Catholic chapel. It was dated 1619, and had carved above its door the motto of the city, together with the words, In te Domine. speravi—Pax intrantibus—Salvus exeuntibus— Elissit be God in all his giftis.
On the fifth floor of this tenement was a large room, which during the greater part of the eighteenth century was used as a place of worship by the Scottish Catholics, and, until its demolition
lately, there still remained painted on the door the name of the old bishop—Mr.Hay—for, in those days he dared designate himself nothing more. He was celebrated in theological literature as the
opponent of Bishop William Abernethy Drummond of the Scottish Episcopal Church, one of the few clergymen who paid his respects to Charles. Edward when he kept his court at Holyrood. By his energy Dr. Hay constructed a chapel in Chalmer’s Close, which was destroyed in 1779,when an attempt to repeal the penal statutes, against Catholics roused a “No Popery” cry in-Edinburgh. On the and of February a mob,including 500 sailors from Leith, burned this chapel and plundered another, while the bishop was living in the Blackfriars Wynd, and the house of every Catholic in Edinburgh was sacked and destroyed.

source-Old and New Edinburgh

Some Text