The History of Leith

February 2, 2012

Vote for the extinction of their country

On the 25th of March, 1707, the treaty of union was ratified by the Estates, and on the 22nd of April the ancient Parliament of Scotland adjourned, to assemble no more. On that occasion the Chancellor Seafield made use of a brutal jest,for which, says Sir Walter Scott, his countrymen should have destroyed him on the spot.
It is, of course, a matter of common history, that the legislative union between Scotland and England was carried by the grossest bribery and corruption; but the sums actually paid to members.-
who sat in that last Parliament are not perhaps so well known, and may be curious to the reader.
During some financial investigations which were in progress in 1711 Lockhart discovered and made public that the sum of,£20,540 173. yd. had been secretly distributed by Lord Godolphin, the Treasurer of England, among the baser members of the Scottish Parliament, for the purpose of inducing them to vote for the extinction of their country, and in his ” Memoirs of Scotland from the Accession of Queen Anne,” he gives us the following list of the receivers,and this list was confirmed on oath by David Earl of Glasgow, the Treasurer Deputy of Scotland.

To the Earl of Marchmont
Earl of Cromarty .
Lord Prestonhall .
Lord Ormiston, Lord Justice Clerk
Duke of Montrose .
Duke of Athole
Earl of Balcarris
Earl of Dunmore .
Lord Anstruther
Stewart of Castle Stewart
Earl of Eglinton
Lord Fraser .
Lord Cessnock (Afterwards Polworth)
Mr. John Campbell
Earl of Forfar
Sir Kenneth Mackenzie .
Earl of Glencairn .
Earl of Kintore
Earl of Findlater .
John Muir, Provost of Ayr
Lord Forbes . . . ^
Earl of Seafield (afterwaras Findlater)
. . . .
Marquis of Tweeddale .
Duke of Roxburghe
Lord Elibank
Lord Banff . . . .
Major Cunninghame of Eckatt
Bearer of the Treaty of Union
Sir William Sharp.
Coultrain, Provost of Wigton .
Mr. Alexander Wedderburn .
High Commissioner (Queensberry)

Source-Old and New Edinburgh

Some Text