The History of Leith

September 14, 2011

Duke of Montrose

The title of Duke of Montrose (named after Montrose, Angus) was created twice in the peerage of Scotland, firstly in 1488 for David Lindsay, 5th Earl of Crawford. It was forfeited and then returned, but only for the period of the holder’s lifetime. Thus, it was not inherited.

The title was bestowed anew in 1707, again in the peerage of Scotland, on the fourth Marquess of Montrose, and has since been in the Graham family. The title is also tied as the chieftainship of Clan Graham.

The Duke’s subsidiary titles are: Marquess of Montrose (created 1644), Marquess of Graham and Buchanan (1707), Earl of Montrose (1503), Earl of Kincardine (1707), Earl Graham of Belford (1722), Viscount Dundaff (1707), Lord Graham (1445),[1] Lord Aberruthven, Mugdock and Fintrie (1707) and Baron Graham of Belford (1722). The titles Earl and Baron Graham of Belford are in the peerage of Great Britain; the rest are in the peerage of Scotland. The eldest son of the Duke uses the courtesy title Marquess of Graham and Buchanan.
Arms of His Grace the Duke of Montrose

The family seat is Auchmar, near Loch Lomond. for more click here

Some Text