The History of Leith

April 20, 2011

The End of the Leith Tolbooth

Tolbooih had become decayed and ruinous, and soon after the demolition of the Heart of Midlothian its doom was pronounced. Sir Waiter Scott, Charles Kirkpatrick Sharpe, and other zealous antiquaries,
left nothing undone to induce the magistrates of Edinburgh, under whose auspices the work of demolition proceeded, to preserve the picturesque sweet front, and re-build the remainder on a proposed plan.
A deputation waited upon the provost for this purpose, but ” were courteously dismissed with the unanswerable argument that the expense of new designs had been incurred; and so the singular old house of justice of Queen Mary was replaced by the commonplace erection that now occupies its site” The old edifice was demolished in 1819, and its unprepossessing successor was erected in 1822, at the expense of the city of Edinburgh,

source-

Some Text