The History of Leith

November 18, 2010


Lord Provost
Member of Parliament
for City
Ditto for County
“First Bailie
Second Bailie
Third Bailie
Fourth Bailie
« Dean of Guild
“Convener of Trades
Admiral of Leith
Baron Bailie of Canongate
& Calton
Baron Bailie of E.
&W. Portsburgh
First resident Bailie
of Leith
First resident Bailie
‘Sheriff Depute
Sheriff Substitute
Sir John Hope, B.
Wm. Macfarlane
Robert Dundas
John Inglis
Wm. Gibson Craig
“Dr. James Hare
Grame Mercer
of Canongate
David Murray, Accountant, Clerk to the Commissioners.
Those marked * are the Annual Committee of Management.
Roger Aytoun, Simon Fraser, John Archibald Murray, Capt
Jn. D. Boswcll, and R. Wardlaw Ramsay, visiting Justices
appointed by the County.
Peter Langwill, Governor—James Law, Surgeon.—
Miss Millar, Governess.—James Porteous, Chaplain.
Archibald Campbell, Officer.

Some Text