The History of Leith

May 4, 2009

Leith Franklin cricket club

img_4962
Click to enlarge
(c) John Arthur

Cricket has been played on the same patch of Leith Links for over 150 years. Leith Franklin cricket club was established in 1852. The majority of the early members were workers at the nearby Fullartons Printworks on Stead’s Place. It was named in recognition polymath Benjamin Franklin, himself a printer. The club has a rich history and even boasts a Scotland international in Willie Hermiston on it’s honour roll. for more click here

Some Text