The History of Leith

September 4, 2007

The East end of Princes Street-Edinburgh-1804

z-1326-1.jpg

Lady Glenorchy was born in 1741 in Galloway. After a serious illness she had a conversion experience and after her husband’s death devoted her life to the spread of the evangelical cause, holding services for rich and poor and influencing many to enter the ministry. She was behind the setting up of chapels in both Scotland and England, the first in Edinburgh giving a pulpit to Presbyterian, Episcopal and Methodist clergy alike. In 1772 she founded another chapel, which became the Church of Scotland congregation known as Lady Glenorchy’s, whose history is now incorporated both in Holy Trinity Church in Wester Hailes and in Greenside Church in central Edinburgh. This new chapel was to serve those who could not be incorporated within the existing buildings of the established church for reasons of space but it was to keep its independence. A school was also built. She died in 1786.

TRINITY (Kirk) COLLEGE (Now removed). At the foot of Leith Wynd, on the west side, there was founded on the 5th of March, 1462, by royal charter, the collegiate church of the Holy Trinity, by Mary, Queen of Scotland, daughter of Arnold Duke of Gueldres, grand-daughter of John Duke of Burgundy, and widow of James II., slain about two years before by the bursting of a cannon at Roxburgh. Her great firniness on that disastrous occasion, and during the few remaining years of her own life, proves her to have been a princess of no ordinary strength of mind. for more click here

Some Text