The History of Leith

November 29, 2004


Leith was part of Edinburgh, became separate and rejoined in 1920. Technically becomes Leith a bit down Leith Walk, the real centre is the Foot of the Walk at the junction with Great Junction Street.

Leith was a thriving port from the middle ages. Mary Queen of Scots landed here from France in 1561 and much trade was done with France over the years. Claret wine was one of the biggest, being the preferred drink of the Scots establishment. Port was also a favourite cargo, reflected in names like Grahams and Cockburn.

Leith was the home of Crabbies Green Ginger until 1997 (it is now flats) and many of the Whisky bonds have now moved.

Leith rose to prosperity in the 1800’s and there are many buildings, especially in Commercial Street and Bernard Street that are testament to this. The Scotch Malt Whisky Society’s home in ‘The Vaults’ in St Giles Street also reflects the wine trade history.

After a period of decline, Leith benefitted from old related shipping. It is now a busy port with visits from cruise liners and of course the home of the Royal Yacht Brittania. The council and government’s ‘Leith Project’ boosted a new era of economic. The shore area, once seedy, is now a centre for a range of new pubs and restaurants in charming surroundings.

for more go to the link on the rhs

Some Text